Archive | December, 2012

Tame your computer – turn people off

31 Dec

In Outlook, when you type the first letter of a name in the To, Cc or Bcc boxes, a list of names and e-mail addresses you have typed before is displayed. As time goes by,  names that you use less frequently will move down the list and eventually will disappear.

Back in 2008 I wrote how to remove a name from the automatic name fill-in list (note that in Outlook 2010 Microsoft introduced a “delete cross” next to the name to make it more intuitive). But perhaps you are not a fan of the name suggestions – having sent the odd message to the wrong person – and want to turn it off?

Here’s how (in Outlook 2002-2007)

  1. Choose the Tools, Options command.
  2. In the Options dialogue box, under E-mail, click on the E-mail Options button.
  3. In the E-mail Options dialogue box, click on the Advanced E-mail Options button.
  4. Clear the Suggest names while completing the To, Cc and Bcc fields box.
  5. Click on the OK button to return to the E-mail Options dialog box.

Here’s how (in Outlook 2010)

  1. Click the File tab.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Click Mail.
  4. In the Outlook Options dialog box, under Send messages (half way down the list), clear the Use Auto-Complete List to suggest names when typing in the To, Cc and Bcc lines check box.
  5. If you want, remove all current names from the list by clicking the Empty Auto-Complete List button in the Outlook Options dialog box.
  6. Click on the OK button.

This is the last post of 2012. Wishing all readers a peaceful, happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

Advertisements

Tame your computer – don’t keep track!

17 Dec

Have you ever accidentally distributed a document that still contained tracked changes and comments? If so, you probably thought that by changing the default Display for Review option (“Final: Show Markup”) to “Final” you finalised the work. After all, what else could “Final” mean? Well, the options are there to help you choose how to view (I repeat: view!) the document. For example, you can display the document with all the proposed changes (Final), or you can look at what the document was like before any changes were made (Original).

Therefore, if you want to finalise the document so that nobody sees the tracked changes or comments anymore, you will need to ignore the Display for Review options and accept or reject all proposed changes, as well as delete comments after reviewing them.

Here’s how:

  1. Press CTRL+HOME to move the insertion point to the beginning of the document.
  2. On the Review tab click on the Next button in the Changes group.
  3. Review the first change or comment. Click on the arrow below the Accept or Reject button and click on the Accept and Move to Next or Reject and Move to Next button.
  4. The next change in the document is selected. Repeat step 3 until you get a message stating “The document contains no comments or tracked changes”.
  5. Click OK.

I know there are other ways, but using this method you ensure you do not miss anything.

Tame your computer – quick recovery

1 Dec

Are you one of those people that don’t read the Microsoft Office warning messages when you close everything down and want to catch your bus? If so, it is very likely you at some point closed a file without saving it. And you might have regretted it. Well, since Office 2010 it is now very easy to recover your unsaved documents.

Here’s how:

  1. Open Word, Excel or PowerPoint, as normal.
  2. Click on the File tab and select Recent. (Mind you, I hope you all clicked on the tiny arrow on the right side of your Quick Access Toolbar and ticked Open Recent File so you can simply click on its button!?)
  3. At the bottom of the page, click on the Recover Unsaved Documents button.
  4. Double-click the file you want to recover.

Obviously, I am not recommending that you rely on this method! But as I  recently thought I had lost some work, I wanted to share this with you.