Tame your computer – don’t keep track!

17 Dec

Have you ever accidentally distributed a document that still contained tracked changes and comments? If so, you probably thought that by changing the default Display for Review option (“Final: Show Markup”) to “Final” you finalised the work. After all, what else could “Final” mean? Well, the options are there to help you choose how to view (I repeat: view!) the document. For example, you can display the document with all the proposed changes (Final), or you can look at what the document was like before any changes were made (Original).

Therefore, if you want to finalise the document so that nobody sees the tracked changes or comments anymore, you will need to ignore the Display for Review options and accept or reject all proposed changes, as well as delete comments after reviewing them.

Here’s how:

  1. Press CTRL+HOME to move the insertion point to the beginning of the document.
  2. On the Review tab click on the Next button in the Changes group.
  3. Review the first change or comment. Click on the arrow below the Accept or Reject button and click on the Accept and Move to Next or Reject and Move to Next button.
  4. The next change in the document is selected. Repeat step 3 until you get a message stating “The document contains no comments or tracked changes”.
  5. Click OK.

I know there are other ways, but using this method you ensure you do not miss anything.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: